Sean Quinn is an emerging Australian composer, advocate and writer based in Melbourne, Victoria. He now studies with Melody Eötvös at the Melbourne Conservatorium, and has worked closely with composers and performers in various faculties of both the Sydney Conservatorium and his home university. His list of compositions ranges from solo works, large scale orchestral feats and indeterminate works using a variety of notational practices, lining up at around 25 complete works. He is notorious for his headstrong ambitions and serious approaches to music – which has lead to him exercising his skills at a high standard.

Sean’s interests in composition are never settled, as he is constantly traversing a variety of stylistic and aesthetic practices. Having experimented with graphic and text notational styles, he now works primarily with a complex language of fixed notation, inspired by composers such as Ross Edwards, Peter Sculthorpe and Liza Lim. Of recent, his interests have landed him in the worlds of anthropology and emotional development, and how ecosystems – both natural and human-made – interact and communicate. These interests have also led to research into networks of sound, connecting to found sound, relationships between performer, score, instrument and audience.

Moving into 2020, Sean is planning a variety of community-based projects that are built for the purpose of engaging people with New Music on a visceral level. His passion for New Music in education has stemmed from the lack of it that exists in school syllabi and he hopes that his endeavours will allow for a better acceptance and understanding of the developing world of New Music.

He is the founder of the Children of the Millennium ensemble; a rising group that plans to debut in the near future, playing music written for the group and by composers who write in the 21st Century – performed by students born after 2000. He believes in making the unconventional seem normal, rather than obscuring it and making it seem ugly or inaccessible. He has also begun a project, ‘notforCREDIT’, which involves the performance of exploratory/text/graphic scores, mainly from Australian artists. He is working closely with the music of Caitlin Rowley, Liza Lim and Samantha Wolf in this process, as well as others. 

Other future projects include a new Flute Concerto – Fever-Fusion-Dream, to be premiered mid-2021, a cycle for Saxophone and Piano – biome tales, a text-score anthology – X-ertions, and three cycles of notated works – plantations, Forest’s Mind and Terminus for various performers, alongside a smattering of other solo and chamber works.

When not composing, Sean enjoys reading, attending the theatre/concerts and writing poetry. He has contributed to and been interviewed by Cut-Common and Fever-Pitch Magazines.

‘With my two arms, I do not aspire to to touch the sky.’

Sappho (35)

1 thought on “Biography

  1. Great website!!

    Love it!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close